rapid kl mrt train merdeka

The MRT Putrajaya line has officially launched its Phase 2, opening up the entire line to the public with a total of 36 stations serving Klang Valley. In conjunction with the line’s grand opening, Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim announced that rides on the MRT Putrajaya line will be free from now until 31 March 2023.

Phase 2 of the Putrajaya line will start operating today at 3PM, with this section being 38.7KM while the entire line itself is 57.7KM long. The first phase, which only opened up the first 12 stations, launched last June while Phase 2 was expected to launch this January before it was delayed.

mrt putrajaya line phase 1
Photo: MRT Corp/Twitter

Of the 36 total stations, nine are underground and 10 are interchange and connecting stations that connect the line to other public train services in Klang Valley, including the Kajang MRT line, LRT, monorail, and KTM. Moreover, 17 of the Putrajaya line’s stations are equipped with a total of 5,870 parking spots for those who wish to park and ride.

The line starts from Kwasa Damansara and can take commuters all the way to Cyberjaya and Putrajaya. It is connected to the MRT Kajang line at its starting point as well as Tun Razak Exhange, along with interchange stations to other lines at Sungai Buloh, Sri Damansara Timur, Kampung Batu, Titiwangsa, Chan Sow Lin, Sungai Besi, and Putrajaya Sentral.

MRT Bukit Bintang - MRT Kajang TVM - Jan 2023

The line connects with the Kelaja Jaya Line via Ampang Park, but you’ll have to tap out and walk as it is not an interchange station. With the full opening of the line, it is projected to have a daily ridership of 104,000 commuters.

A couple of months ago, we found that the MRT was testing out an option to pay for ride tokens using bank cards, which also allowed users to pay using their Apple Watch. However, it’s unclear if this method will be widely available for the Putrajaya line.

(Source: FMT)

The post MRT Putrajaya Line Phase 2 Officially Launched; Free Rides Until 31 March appeared first on Lowyat.NET.