ALOR SETAR: Perikatan Nasional candidate Datuk Azman Nasrudin has officially won Padang Serai parliamentary seat with a 16,206 majority of votes.

Azman, 50, secured a whopping 51,637 votes defeating Pakatan Harapan candidate Dr Mohamad Sofee Razak who polled 35,377 votes.

Parti Pejuang Tanah Air candidate Hamzah Abdul Rahman and independent candidate Ananda AK lost their deposit after they only managed to record only 424 and 846 votes respectively.

ALSO READ: D-Day in Padang Serai and Tioman

Barisan Nasional candidate Datuk Sivarajh Chandran (2,983) and Parti Warisan Sabah candidate Mohd Bakhri Hashim (149) who pulled out from the race also lost their deposits.

Voting was postponed following the death of incumbent M. Karupaiya of Pakatan three days before GE15.

The constituency in Kedah had 133,870 voters, 68,284 female and 65,586 male.

The majority were between 21 and 30 years old (29.1%), followed by those 31 to 40 (19.7%).

There are 83,841 Malay voters (62.6%), followed by 25,687 Indian voters (19.2%), 23,600 Chinese (17.6%) and 742 others (0.6%).