KUALA LUMPUR: Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah and Raja Permaisuri Agong Tunku Hajah Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah graced a tea reception held for members of the 1967 national Thomas Cup badminton team at Istana Negara here.

Istana Negara in a Facebook post on Friday (Jan 13) said that apart from feting the legendary shuttlers, their Majesties also expressed the highest appreciation for their service and contribution to the country.

The team members present were Datuk Yew Cheng Hoe, Datuk Billy Ng Seow Meng, Datuk Tan Yee Khan, Datuk Teh Kew San and Tan Aik Huang.

Also present were two former national Uber Cup badminton players from the 50s and 70s, Jean Moey and Sylvia Ng, as well as the 1976 Thomas Cup badminton player Datuk James Selvaraj Joseph.

Former local sports journalists such as Datuk Fauzi Omar, Datuk Yong Soo Heong, Datuk George Das, Datuk Lazarus Rokk and Datuk Johnson Fernandez, were also in attendance.

The 1967 Thomas Cup badminton tournament held at Istora Senayan, Jakarta, Indonesia saw Malaysia taking the title for the fourth time after defeating the host team 6-3 in the final. – Bernama