KUALA LUMPUR: The Department of Irrigation and Drainage (DID) has issued a flood preparedness notice for several areas in Johor, Perak, Kedah, Pahang, Selangor and Negri Sembilan.

DID announced in a statement that based on the Malaysian Meteorological Department (MetMalaysia) weather forecast, the Southeastern Asia-Oceania Flash Flood Guidance System (SAOFFGS) and DID flood prediction models, there were risks of flash floods in several areas in those states should heavy rain or significant thunderstorms occur.

In Johor, Johor Baru (Jelutong, Tanjong and Kupang) as well as Pontian (Jeram Batu, Sungai Karang and its surrounding areas) are the areas affected while in Perak, it involves Larut, Matang and Selama (Hulu Selama, Hulu Ijok and Selama).

In Kedah, the areas affected are Bandar Baharu (Sungai Batu) and Kulim (Terap); Temerloh (Semantan) and Bentong (Sabai and its surrounding areas) in Pahang; Hulu Selangor (Ulu Bernam) and Hulu Langat (Ulu Langat) in Selangor, as well as Jelebu (Kenaboi, Glami Lemi and its surrounding areas) and Kuala Pilah (Langkap and its surrounding areas) in Negri Sembilan.

“The notice has been issued to enable residents in at-risk areas to be prepared for the possibility of flash floods for the period,” it added on Monday (Nov 28).

The public can visit https://publicinfobanjir.water.gov.my, Facebook @PublicInfoBanjir and Twitter @JPS_InfoBanjir for further information. – Bernama